On the contrary

I love to write. NO doubt about it.

Do I love everything about being a writer. No.

I love writing, rereading, finding just the right title that points to plot and genre, publishing, and selling. I hate editing, rewriting, marketing, reading reviews, inserting corrections, and additions. I truly abhor middles. The center 40% is always where the doubts hit and the thoughts of suck burn into my brain.

Probably the absolute worst are the rejections, the failure to grasp the meanings by readers, and the people who pick a book off the table with no intent of buying in their eyes. They look at the back cover, usually upside down. Then they thumb slide the pages like they expect a cartoon, before they lay the book down with disdain written all over their contours. I wanna smack them with a knuckle sandwich.

I have gone so far as to pick up the book and wipe it off with my clean handkerchief before laying it back on the table. I stare at them when I do it.

I asked a lady one time what she was looking for by bending the cover and thumbing through the book so fast. I got a shoulder shrug.

I guess ya gotta love it to keep from killing someone.

Go write right now.

WS

One thought on “On the contrary

Add yours

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑